curing at home

This delicious dish of duck ham, toasted almonds, poached peaches and parsley was on the Menu at the Gurnards Head pub near St Ives, Cornwall this Summer. I was so taken that I decided to do my own curing and use a particular favourite recipe from my American chef hero Mario Batalli. So I have the local duck breast from Offchurch Poultry and prepared the cure of salt, sugar, chilli, rosemary, thyme and black pepper. Once rubbed into the breast I wrapped in baking parchment and it is now in the fridge for a few days. Next week I’ll unwrap and hang for a few weeks in the fridge. Just in time for Secret Squisito Valentines party on Saturday February 12th. If you would like to buy tickets please go to http://www.squisito-deli.co.uk. Tickets are limited and are £25 for 5 courses in cluding a glass of Prosecco. Advanced booking only.

Leave a Reply

